Afternoon Talks

Talks start at 2:00pm and are in the Abbey Baptist Church, Abbey Square, Reading, RG1 3BE. There is no local parking, but all main bus services are just a short walk away (Jackson’s Corner Bus Stop). The talks last about an hour. There is no booking required to attend talks. Members please bring your membership card. Guests may also attend and will be asked to pay £2.00.

Tuesday, 14th September 2021 Dumfries House and the Prince’s FoundationMark Webb and Satinder Kaur
Tuesday, 12th October 2021History of the Mansion House at Prospect ParkKatie Amos
Tuesday, 9th November 2021Homeward BoundJeff Rozelaar
DecemberNo talk
JanuaryNo talk
Tuesday, 8th February 2022A Stroll through Berkshire’s Churchyards Catherine Sampson
Tuesday, 8th March 2022‘We Are Not Amused’ said Queen VictoriaAntony Wood

Evening Talks

Evening talks start at 7.30pm and are held in St. Peter’s Church Hall, Church Road, Earley, RG6 1EY.  There is parking in the school playground (further along Church Road), and for those with difficulty walking some limited parking is available in front of the hall.  The Number 17 bus is just a few minutes walk away (Three Tuns Stop).  The talks last about an hour.  There is no booking required to attend talks.  Members please bring your membership card.  Guests may also attend and will be asked to pay £2.00.

Tuesday, 28th September 2021 on Zoom‘Fishy Tales’ – Smelly AlleyKevin Little
Tuesday, 26th October 2021Silchester: New Light on the Iron Age and Roman TownProfessor Michael Fulford, CBE
Tuesday, 23rd November 2021The Duke of Wellington’s Country House at Stratfield SayeBrigadier Michael Aris, CBE, DL & Richard Bennett, DL
DecemberNo talk
Tuesday 25th January 2022Reading WWI HospitalsLionel Williams
Tuesday, 22nd February 2022AGM
Tuesday 22nd March 2022Life of the Victorian Bookseller of Reading – George LovejoyMartin Andrews

Other Activities

Each of these activities is arranged individually but they do require booking.  Booking arrangements are similar to day trips and these activities are included in the booking form sent with member’s bi-annual newsletter.  Spaces sometimes remain available for these events after the closing date.  To check, look at the Latest News page and then contact the Organiser. 

Saturday, 23rd October 202150th Anniversary Celebration Lunch
Wednesday, 15th December 2021Carol Service